Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Search Committee Named for Provost Post

January 06, 2012

A 15-member search committee has been announced by Angelo State University President Joseph C. Rallo to make recommendations for a new provost and vice president for academic affairs by the end of May.  

ASU Faculty Senate President Dr. Martha Sleutel will chair the committee, which includes faculty from each academic college and representatives from each vice president’s division as well as individuals from Athletics, Staff Senate, Student Government, the San Angelo community, the Texas Tech University System (TTUS) Board of Regents and the TTUS Chancellor’s Office. 

Faculty appointees are Dr. Roberto M. Garza, College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Jamal G. Husein, College of Business; Dr. Kimberly Livengood, College of Education; and Dr. Susan E. Keith, College of Health and Human Services.  Representatives from the vice presidential divisions are Dr. John M. Wegner, Academic Affairs; Kimberly D. Adams, Development; Maggie Pepper, Finance and Administration; and Michelle Bennett, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management.  Other ASU search committee members are Kathleen Brasfield, Athletics; Patrick Dierschke, Staff Senate; and Hector Romo, Student Senate.  

The San Angelo community representative is Jean Ann LeGrand.  Regent Nancy Neal will represent the TTUS Board of Regents on the committee.  Dr. Tim Hudson, TTUS vice chancellor, will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee. 

The search timeline will include development of a job description for the position, which serves as the chief academic officer for ASU and is second in command to the president.  The position will be advertised nationally in February and March with a subsequent review by the director of human resources to confirm that the applicant pool is sufficiently deep and diverse to merit interviews. 

A list of the top 10 candidates will be developed in April, and those initial candidates will be interviewed by phone in coordination with reference checks.  The top three candidates will be invited to campus before spring commencement in May.  A successful search will result in an offer being extended to the finalist by the end of May. 

Dr. Brian J. May, ASU’s graduate dean, has been serving as interim provost and vice president for academic affairs since June.