Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Staff Excellence Awards Nominees

February 09, 2012

Twenty-nine staff members have been nominated for Angelo State University’s annual President’s Awards for Staff Excellence, which will be presented during a campus ceremony on Tuesday, Feb. 28.

Four awards are given each spring semester to recognize non-teaching staff members whose job performance exceeded the customary standards or who exhibited outstanding skill or dedication while performing special projects during the preceding calendar year.  An award will be given to one staff member in each of four categories:  Commitment to Excellence, Excellence in Customer Service, Excellence in Innovation and Excellence in Leadership. 

All nominees are recognized with a certificate.  The four award recipients will each receive a $1,000 honorarium and a glass trophy.  The presentation ceremony is scheduled for 2 p.m. on Feb. 28 in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center in the ASU Houston Harte University Center. 

Nominees by title and department for Commitment to Excellence are: Adriana Balcorta, program specialist, Multicultural Center; Rebekah Brackin, community relations director, Communications and Marketing; Tanner Bryant, technical support specialist, Information Technology; Katherine Garrison, secretary, Special Projects; Jayna Phinney, web information specialist, Communications and Marketing; J.D. (Dan) Robertson, associate director, University Recreation; Eldra Sanford, costumer, University Theatre; Bryan Stephens, technology services specialist, Information Technology; Dwain Swenson, electronics and systems technician, Facilities Management; Lynette Wheeler, assistant bursar, Student Accounts; and Meagan Word, academic advisor, College of Education. 

Excellence in Customer Service nominees are: Elva Aguilar, receptionist, International Studies; Mark Allan, head of library reference services, Porter Henderson Library; Terry Apodaca, office coordinator, Physics; Russ Baker, developmental education advisor, Predeclared Advising; Jaxine Boling, office coordinator, Art and Music; Tanner Bryant, technical support specialist, Information Technology; Mary Eades, office coordinator, Accounting, Economics and Finance; Melody Kelley, office coordinator, Mathematics and Computer Science; Mary Larson, academic advisor, Predeclared Advising; Kimberly Mapel, office coordinator, Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Luann McCorkle, HR generalist, Human Resources; Charles Sebesta, building maintenance technician, Facilities Management; and Betty Taylor, learning lab resource specialist, Nursing. 

Excellence in Innovation nominees are: Lindsay Boynton, leadership development coordinator, Student Involvement; Clint Corases, programmer, Information Technology; Paula Dowler, office coordinator, International Studies; and Terry Favor, licensed professional counselor, Counseling Center. 

Excellence in Leadership nominees are: Ian Brown, assistant director, University Recreation; and Jonathan Hawkins, technology services specialist, Information Technology.


Communications and Marketing