Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Media Students Win State Awards

April 05, 2012

Angelo State University communication and mass media students were honored in 10 categories at the 2012 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) Convention April 3 in Corpus Christi.

The ASU contingent was led by former Ram Page Managing Editor Tim Lester, who took first place for information graphics.  Receiving third place awards were former Ram Page Editor-in-Chief Scott Dykowski and Lester for a picture story, and former Ram Page co-Sports Editor Andy Atterbury for a sports column. 

Honorable mentions went to Ram Page Editor-in-Chief Dana Choi for op-ed page design and in-depth reporting, former Photographer Mark McDaniel for a news photo, and former Features Editor Mariah Powell for single subject presentation design, as well as the Ram Page staff for its overall editorial performance. 

The Ram TV student television station received an honorable mention for sports feature reporting, and Ram TV Producer-Editor Drianna Zeni was recognized as a former Frank Buckley Scholarship Award recipient. 

The TIPA was formed in 1909 and is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation.  It oversees contests in general magazine, radio, television, Internet, yearbooks, literary magazines and six newspaper divisions, and conducts 25 on-site contests during the annual convention.  The organization also presents scholarships to students representing two-year and four-year institutions of higher learning. 

Dr. Cathy Johnson, ASU associate professor of mass media, is the Ram Page advisor, and Leah Mangrum, assistant professor of communication, directs Ram TV. 

For more information on ASU student media, call the Department of Communication, Mass Media and Theatre at 325-942-2031.


Communication, Mass Media and Theatre