Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Honors Top Grad Students

April 23, 2012

Angelo State University honored its outstanding graduate students at the annual College of Graduate Studies Awards Banquet on Friday, April 20, in the Houston Harte University Center.

The highlight of the evening was the announcement by graduate dean Dr. Brian May of the distinguished graduate students from each of ASU’s four academic colleges.  Winners each received a recognition plaque. 

The honorees by major and college were Josh Tindell of Boerne, English, College of Arts and Sciences; Diana K. Steele of La Verne, Calif., animal science, College of Arts and Sciences; Cathryn Rittenberry of Carthage, integrated professional accountancy, College of Business; Jamie L. Robinson of San Angelo, school administration, College of Education; and Tara Niemann of Quincy, Ill., coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration, College of Health and Human Services. 

The other nominees for the top awards were also recognized and awarded certificates.  They were Travis G. Covill and Dustin Merriman of San Angelo, Megean L. Barrett of Karnes City, Christabel Cisneroz of San Saba, Karen L. Hasson of Storrs, Conn., Margaret Hemmen of Austin, and Elizabeth Meghan Seibert of Savannah, Ga. 

Additionally, all ASU graduate students who have maintained a 4.0 GPA after completing at least half of their graduate programs were recognized, along with those who have written or presented papers or won other awards.