Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Education Honor Society Inducts 32

April 25, 2012

Angelo State University’s Mu Gamma chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) international honor society for education added 32 new members during its recent induction and awards ceremony.

The 2012 spring initiates from San Angelo are Ashley Nicole Boatwright, Skyla Brasher, Stephanie Eckert, Benjamin Ellery, Liliana Gonzalez, Dawn Faith Guajardo, Kayla Yvonne McCloud, Ashton McDowell, Hannah Nicoll Rawles, Blanca Ruiz, Teresa Smith, Nelson Thomas, Courtney Rae Williams and Katy Marie Williams. 

Other inductees include Jennifer Howell of Ballinger, Allysson Averi Ruiz of Castroville, Jennifer Renee Frias of Del Rio, Catherine Pfluger of Eden, Emily Megan Booth of Fort Worth, Shae Nicole Durst of Fredericksburg, Elsa Muro of Glen Rose, Eden Dianne Sultemeir of Lampasas and J. Sawyer Straw of Littlefield. 

Also, Brandi Nicole Horn of New Braunfels, Melinda Janell Moran of Ozona, Kenny Schooler of Paint Rock, Kristen Leigh Alexander of Prosper, Jordan Paige Arnold of Roby, Sara Elizabeth Mitchell of Slaton, Kimberly Allison Jones of Sweetwater, Kristine Calvaresi of Universal City and Destiny De La Vega of Phoenix, Ariz. 

At the ceremony, KDP members also recognized educators who have made a positive impact on their education.  Presented with awards were Richard Hester, a science teacher from Snyder who was nominated by his former student and KDP member Amy Fogelman; and Dr. Toni Sauncy, an ASU professor of physics nominated by KDP president Tanya Gue.  Dr. Mack McCoulskey, professor of education, was also honored by the KDP membership for his 36 years of teaching at ASU. 

To qualify for KDP, undergraduate students must be at least sophomores with a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher in 12 or more hours of education courses.  Graduate students qualify with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher after a minimum of 12 hours of professional education courses. 

KDP was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching.  The national organization is composed of 582 chapters, and total international membership numbers more than 45,000.