Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Student Media Win 11 Press Awards

April 19, 2011

Angelo State University’s student journalists received 11 awards at the 2011 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention earlier this month in Fort Worth.

Awards won by the Ram Page student newspaper include second places by Scott Dykowski in the news story category, Pam Belcher for a news photo and Tim Lester for information graphics. Third place awards went to Lester for a photo illustration and to Morgan Thibeault for a feature story.

Honorable mention awards went to Michael Whitson for a sports feature story, Kimberley Parker for a sports action photo, Jeremy Jones for an editorial cartoon and Jim Waters for an illustration.

The Ram TV student television station received a second place award in the public affairs category and Ram TV producer/editor Drianna Zeni received the Frank Buckley Scholarship Award.

Dykowski serves as Ram Page editor. Dr. Cathy Johnson, associate professor of mass media, is the Ram Page advisor, and Leah Mangrum, assistant professor of communication, directs Ram TV.

For more information, call the ASU Communication, Mass Media and Theatre Department at 942-2031.