Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Handball Club Wins National Titles

February 28, 2013

Angelo State University’s Handball Club won its second consecutive overall Division 2 national championship at the 61st U.S. Handball Association National Collegiate Championship Tournament Feb. 20–24 at Arizona State University in Tempe, Ariz.

ASU’s men totaled 1,078 points and the women scored 264 for a team total of 1,342 to win the combined title. Finishing a distant second was the University of West Florida with 604 points. The ASU women won the Women’s Division 2 team championship while the ASU men finished third in the Men’s Division 2 competition.

Individual national champions for ASU were Drew Biggerstaff in Men’s Division 2, Class C, and Anthony Bryson in Men’s Division 3, Class B.

Also for ASU, James Daughtery and Dustin Oswalt both reached the individual semifinals in the Men’s Division 2, Class B, and Wes Bond reached the individual quarterfinals in the Men’s Division 2, Intermediate Class. Other ASU team members competing at the tournament were Josh DeWaters, Ryan Henry, Joby Winfrey, John Zafereo and Elizabeth Casarez.

The Handball Club is coached by Dr. Warren Simpson, professor of kinesiology, and receives funds as a club sport from the ASU Center for Student Involvement’s Student Organization Leadership Fund. Membership dues, fundraising and donations cover the balance of the club’s expenses, including entry fees, meals, equipment and miscellaneous costs. Simpson has coached ASU to four team and five individual national titles in the past three years, and has garnered four overall national titles at West Texas institutions.

For more information, call the Center for Student Involvement at 325-942-2062, or e-mail Simpson at