Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Students Awarded Scholarships

April 25, 2013

Forty Angelo State University students have been awarded $1,000 ASU Student Endowment Scholarships for the 2014 fiscal year.

The scholarships are based on scholastic achievement, campus and community involvement and leadership, and financial need.  The Student Endowment Committee reviews student applications and awards the scholarships.

Students receiving the scholarships, listed with their hometowns, classifications and academic majors, are Richard Amoateng, Dublin, Ireland, sophomore, biology; Ariel Bittner, Seguin, senior, biology; Roger Blocker, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, student development and leadership; Meghann Bridgeman, San Angelo, senior, sociology; Kayla Bufe, Comanche, junior, pre-social work; Stephanie Carter, San Angelo, PT/doctoral, physical therapy; Allyson Cook-Lindsay, San Angelo, sophomore, kinesiology; and Destiny De La Vega, Phoenix, Ariz., senior, education/preparatory program certification.

Also, Randy Dennis, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration; Codi Foster, Haskell, junior, mathematics/secondary certification; Kayla Franke, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, counseling psychology; John Frankhouser, Lubbock, senior, kinesiology/exercise science; Mary Halcomb, San Antonio, graduate/master’s, industrial/organizational psychology; Cody Harrelson, Crane, junior, integrated animal business; Kayla Hughes, Pampa, senior, nursing; and Jared Kyrouac, Schertz, junior, biology.

Others include Jennifer Lovett, Odessa, graduate, curriculum and instruction/teacher certification; Maryann Martin, Lindale, PT/doctoral, physical therapy; Javier Medina, San Angelo, graduate/master’s, English; Kelsey Merritt, Beasley, senior, psychology; Donald Moore, Grapevine, junior, political science; Sean Motl, San Angelo, senior, psychology; and Bryce Patton, Silverton, sophomore, agribusiness.

Also, Guadalupe Perez, Stanton, junior, biology; Tevin Powers, San Angelo, senior, biology; Walter Reed, San Angelo, sophomore, physics; Brittany Ricker, San Angelo, post-baccalaureate, biology; Rachel Riggs, De Leon, sophomore, communication; Vincent Rivera, Burnet, junior, kinesiology; Cetricia Rockhold, Ingram, sophomore, psychology; Tabatha Rumsey, San Angelo, senior, animal science; Courtney Rutledge, Monahans, senior, educational proprietary program.

And, Darren Seidel, Sanderson, senior, animal science; Derrick Thivierge, Marion, junior, food animal science and marketing; Nelson Thomas, Sugar Land, senior, education; Kailyn Troxell, Pampa, sophomore, kinesiology; Amanda Weaver, Center Point, sophomore, biology; Vanessa Wester, San Angelo, junior, social work; Margaret Wimberly, San Angelo, senior, social work; and Aracely Zapata, San Angelo, senior, interdisciplinary studies.

The scholarships are open to full-time returning ASU students enrolled in regular academic classes or internships.  The overall grade point average (GPA) for this year’s recipients is 3.76 on a 4.0 scale.  Thirty-five of the 40 recipients have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, and nine have a 4.0 cumulative GPA.

The Student Endowment Committee is chaired by Dr. Bradley Petty, executive director of student affairs, and includes Dr. Alaric Williams, faculty representative; Crystal Braden, staff representative; and Joshua Heimbecker, student representative.  The scholarship fund was set up in 2000 after an ASU Student Senate referendum passed to fund the scholarship with now-discontinued student fees until it reached a target balance of $500,000, which the committee strives to maintain.  Scholarships have been awarded since the spring 2004 semester.

For more information, call Petty at 325-942-2034.