Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Agriculture Student Awards

April 29, 2013

Fifty-five Angelo State University agriculture students were honored for their academic and extra-curricular accomplishments during the ASU Agriculture Department’s annual Spring Banquet on April 26.

The banquet was sponsored by the Block and Bridle Club and Meat and Food Science Association student organizations.

The Agriculture Department’s Senior Merit Award went to Corey Burson, while Kimberly Rennspies won the Outstanding Freshman Award.

Block and Bridle Club awards went to Tyler Reasor as Outstanding Freshman, Kim Rennspies as Outstanding Sophomore, Mason Long as Outstanding Junior, and Darcy Musick as Outstanding Senior.

From the Meat and Food Science Association, Kylee Werland and Kameron Haecker shared the Sharpest Knife Award as Outstanding Undergraduate Students; Bonnie Wallace won the Prime Award as Outstanding Graduate; and Clinton and Joyce Hodges shared the Butcher Block Award for Outstanding Contribution.

Additionally, 46 ASU students were inducted into the Delta Tau Alpha national agriculture honor society.  Inductees were Joshua Andrews, Haleigh Arent, Dakota Armbruster, Heidi Austin, Rebekah Bailey, Katriona Baker, Hunter Brietzke, Derek Borgan, Glenn Brodbeck, Kye Burris, Jaye Chasteen, Katlynn Cox, Ty Crooks, Danielle Freeman, William Fuentes, Corey Haas, Hunter Haby, Trevor Hahn, Haley Hale, Cody Harrelson, Daniel Heare, Justin Hightower, Clint Holik, Travis Holle and Tori Holsey.

Also, Kelli Greenwood, Katelyn Jones, Clay Kelley, Michael Leaf, Stephanie Lorenz, Dustin Martin, Sarah McLain, Kolt Meeks, Christopher Miller, Bailey Minor, Shaylyn Parker, Kailee Radloff, Skyler Rainwater, Cody Riddle, Julianne Royce, Darren Seidel, Diamond Shipman, Brandi Solenther, Derrick Thivierge, Sawyer Warrick and Sterling Yurrita.

Members of Agriculture Department’s Meat Judging, Livestock Judging and Wool Judging teams were also recognized, as well as members of the Meat and Food Science Association and Agricultural Economics Quiz Bowl teams.