Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

TTUS Student Regent Named

May 07, 2013

Gov. Rick Perry announced Monday (May 6) the appointment of Joshua Heimbecker as the new Texas Tech University System student regent for 2013-2014.

Heimbecker, who is pursuing a degree in biology from Angelo State University, becomes the eighth student to serve on the Board of Regents. His one-year term begins June 1.

“As a San Angelo native, Joshua’s dedication to Angelo State is deep-rooted and apparent in his involvement throughout campus,” said Dr. Brian May, president of Angelo State University. “He is a proven leader, and I know he will be an outstanding representative for students of the Texas Tech University System.”

An undergraduate research fellow and Carr Scholar, Heimbecker works as a biochemistry research assistant and participates in the Science Partnership for Undergraduate Recruitment, Retention and Success (SPURRS) program as a tutor and mentor.

Heimbecker was elected vice president of the Student Government Association (SGA) in 2012. He first became involved in the SGA as a senator for the Biology and Chemistry Departments and has since served as chairman of the Academic Affairs Committee and president pro-tempore of the Student Senate.

“This has been an exceptionally exciting week for me and my family,” Heimbecker said. “I am honored to have received this appointment as Student Regent. I look forward to serving with the Board of Regents and leaders of the Texas Tech University System.”

During his time at Angelo State, Heimbecker has been involved in the Beta Beta Beta biology honor society and the Ram Powerlifting Club. He also spent two summers studying overseas through the Angelo State University Center for International Studies and plays guitar at local venues in his spare time.

By law, the student regent rotates between Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and Angelo State University and serves a one-year term. Heimbecker replaces Suzanne Taylor who was appointed in 2012.