Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

2013 a ‘Rewarding’ Year for ASU

December 17, 2013

Calendar year 2013 has been another banner year for Angelo State University students, faculty and staff as they again garnered numerous state and national honors, awards and grants for academic and extracurricular activities.

The year began with a couple of national championships as ASU intramural flag football team IM Legends won both the American Collegiate Intramural Sports and National Campus Championship Series national titles.  Later in January, Dr. William Taylor of the security studies faculty won a Harry S. Truman Library Research Grant to research his upcoming book, and the ASU chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) won a Future Faces of Physics Award from the SPS national office for its joint program with the local Alta Loma Elementary School.

February brought another national championship as ASU’s Handball Club won its second straight U.S. Handball Association Collegiate Division 2 national title.  Meanwhile, for the 16th straight year, ASU math students maintained a 100 percent passing rate on the Texas Examination of Educator Standards (TExES) teacher certification test for secondary mathematics.

Also in February, senior Malorri Hughes and graduate student Wesley Brashear won research awards at the Texas Society of Mammalogists annual meeting, and Russian language students Belia Maria Reyes Godoy and Marcus Nellums won Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies scholarships to study in Russia for the summer.

In March, Dr. Arnoldo De León of the ASU history faculty was awarded the Premio Estrella de Aztlán Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor and recognition bestowed by the National Association of Chicana and Chicano Studies (NACCS).

ASU students stole the show in April as junior Sean Motl of Wall was named ASU’s first Truman Scholar by the Harry S. Truman Foundation, and senior Cassady Hossenlopp of Belton received a Dennis Boe Award for outstanding scholarly work at the Great Plains Honors Council Conference.  Also, ASU’s chapter of the Beta Beta Beta national biology honor society was named the Outstanding Chapter in its district for the 2012-13 academic year, and junior Joshua McGuire of San Angelo was chosen to present his research poster during Texas Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol in Austin.

McGuire was honored again in May as he was one of only eight U.S. students chosen to attend the College of Charleston’s Neuroscience Seminar in Germany over the summer.  Meanwhile, Joshua Heimbecker of San Angelo was appointed by Gov. Rick Perry as the student regent for the Texas Tech University System for 2013-14, and sophomore Duncan Knox was selected for a Fulbright Institute for Young American Student Leaders at the University of Bristol in England.

In June, Dr. Christopher Hobbs of the chemistry faculty received a $50,000 grant from the American Chemical Society for his research on aspects of petroleum processing.  Also, senior Maxwell Kennady of Lenorah was one of only 10 U.S. students chosen to serve on the 2013-14 Pearson Student Advisory Board for the world’s largest educational publishing company, and ASU’s chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi international honor society for education received an Achieving Chapter Excellence Award from the national organization.

July was highlighted by junior Donald “Trey” Moore of Colleyville being one of only 60 U.S. students named a Presidential Fellow by the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress.

In August, ASU’s Air Force ROTC Detachment 847 was named the 2013 High Flight winner as the top medium-sized detachment in the Southwest Region for the second consecutive year.

Two grants came ASU’s way in September as Drs. Kirk Braden and Loree Branham of the agriculture faculty were awarded a $270,000 USDA grant for their project to recruit Hispanic students into the meat and food science program, and ASU’s Student Services Office won a $35,000 U.S. Department of Justice grant to expand campus efforts in education, awareness and prevention of violence and sexual assault.

In October, Corey Owens of the agriculture faculty was named the 2013 Outstanding Young Range Professional by the Texas Section, Society for Range Management, and the Texas Speech Communication Association formed the June Smith Graduate Teaching Award in honor of Dr. June Smith of the ASU communication faculty.

Fittingly, the year was rounded out by another championship as the ASU Meat Judging Team finished second at the American Meat Association’s International Meat Judging Contest in Nebraska, earning the title of Reserve National Champion.

As 2013 draws to a close, these honorees have both continued ASU’s standard of excellence and set the bar high for the university’s students, faculty and staff in 2014.