Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

ASU Intramural Flag Football Teams Win Regional Titles

November 09, 2011

Two Angelo State University teams won titles at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association’s National Campus Championship Series (NIRSA-NCCS) Region IV Flag Football Tournament Nov. 4-6 at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches.

ASU’s New Era was a repeat winner in the Men’s Division, again defeating ASU rival Wolfpac 38-28 in the championship game, after a 27-6 victory over Wolfpac last year. Also in the men’s division, ASU team DTP won three games before losing a 39-12 decision to Tarleton.

ASU’s IM Legends captured the Co-Recreational Division with a title game win over Tarleton State, 41-9. Another ASU Co-Rec team, Nintendo, reached the semifinals before falling to Tarleton State, 27-20.

New Era and IM Legends both advance to the NIRSA-NCCS Flag Football National Championships Jan. 4-6, at Texas A&M University in College Station.

In the Men’s Division, Chas Freeman of New Era was named MVP while Wolfpac’s Trevor Brunet was picked for the all-tournament team.

In the Co-Rec Division, Reid Jackson and Amanda Williams of IM Legends were chosen male and female MVPs, respectively. Alysha Currie of IM Legends, and Justin Rainey and Hollye Sherman of Nintendo were all-tournament selections. In addition, ASU student official Drew Biggerstaff was one of only four officials out of 44 at the tournament to qualify for nationals.

The ASU Sports Club Council, a subdivision of the ASU Student Organization Leadership Fund (SOLF), helped offset participants’ trip expenses.